Adding that WOW Factor to Your Walls with Stencils

Whether you just purchased your dream home, are getting ready to put your home on the market or are simply ready to redecorate a tired room, wall stenciling is the answer to adding a custom accent to your walls without the costs and mess involved with hanging wallpaper. Wall stenciling will add that pizazz to your walls in the colors and patterns of your choice.

How I Discovered Stenciling and Fell in Love

I happen to love vintage damask and found a breathtaking two tone purple velvet wall paper online recently when I was in the planning process of redecorating a guest bedroom. I found a pattern I fell in love with from a manufacturer in the UK at the cost of 250 dollars per roll. I would have needed 4 rolls for my accent wall which would have cost me 1K in addition to the hassle involved with putting it up (this paper was not the self-adhesive kind). My late brother Danny was a professional painter who taught me how to hang the self-adhesive wall paper, hanging the paper that required the paste was a project I wthumbnail_20161027_132804_resized_1as not ready to take on and definitely not at the cost of a thousand bucks. This led me on an internet quest to find alternatives which is how I found Royal Design Studio website. Browsing their various stencil designs, I fell instantly in love. I watched a few tutorials and then ordered their Grand Fabric Damask Wall Stencil which has registration marks to align the pattern horizontally and vertically. I also purchased brushes, supplies, and stencil paint and was ready to take my wall painting skills to the next level.

Mirror Mirror on The Wall: My Wall Color Inspiration

I had picked out a wall base color from being inspired by a wall 20161119_123156_resizedmirror I had which is a taupe color with a grey purple base showing through from a distressing technique. This mirror also inspired me to take on my first antique distressing project (that’s another blog post coming soon). The color I picked for the wall base color in this room is a Lilac Empress Purple Glidden Diamond paint. The stencil paint I chose for this room is Royal Design Studio stencil cream in antique silver.

Tips I Learned Along the Way

  • Watch the stenciling tutorials before starting your project
  • Measure your wall and draw a line down the middle as this is where you scymera_20161127_092327tart your project
  • Clean your stencil multiple times to minimize bleed
  • Purchase a set of artistic brushes to fix your bleed mistakes
  • Go light on the stencil paint
  • Use a little spray adhesive especially in corners and on ceiling and floor lines
  • If you make a mistake, repaint the area with base and start over

Supplies Needed

  • Stencil
  • Stencil Paint
  • Large and Small Stencil Brushes
  • Painters Tape
  • Spray Adhesive
  • Measuring Tape and Pencil
  • Paper Towels
  • Acrylic Paint Remover to Clean Stencil
  • Scrub Brush to Clean Stencil
  • Artistic Brushes to Correct Bleed Marks
  • Level

Before and After

img_20170104_121159_501_resizedthumbnail_20161020_100413_resized_2

The headboard you see in this picture is a Grant Upholstered Headboard by House of Hampton I purchased from Wayfair. I brought the velvet in my décor with this piece.

Leave a Reply

